Recognition scheme

The Waterwise Council recognition scheme was introduced in 2016, to acknowledge councils that are demonstrating leadership in sustainable water management.

Step 1 - complete the recognition application form

Step 2 - submit your application

Send your completed application to by 31 October 2018.

Winners will be announced at our Annual Waterwise Business Recognition event.

In 2017 we expanded the Waterwise Council Recognition Scheme criteria to align with the Water Sensitive Cities Index to celebrate councils’ efforts in driving liveability outcomes across the water cycle and their valuable contributions to creating water sensitive cities and communities. 

While supporting councils to be more water efficient will always be a key focus for the program, the expanded criteria will allow us to highlight the great work councils deliver to help create resilient, sustainable, productive and liveable communities therefore contributing to a more balanced water cycle.

For those unfamiliar with the Water Sensitive Cities Index, it is an assessment tool developed by the Cooperative Research Centre for Water Sensitive Cities (CRCWSC) to benchmark performance against seven urban water goal areas that characterise a water sensitive city, to help councils set targets and identify strategic priorities.

The 7 goal areas are:

  1. Ensure Good Water Sensitive Governance.
  2. Increase Community Capital.
  3. Improve Productivity and Resource Efficiency.
  4. Improve Ecological Health.
  5. Ensure Quality Urban Space.
  6. Achieve Equity of Essential Services.
  7. Promote Adaptive Infrastructure

2018 Recognition Scheme Winners

Councils awarded as part of the recognition scheme were acknowledged at the 2018 Waterwise Business Recognition event, co-hosted by Water Corporation and the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation on 1 May 2018.

Read Water Minister's statement recognising Waterwise Councils

Congratulations to Platinum Waterwise Council  - City of Subiaco and all our Gold Waterwise Councils! These councils have delivered a range of fantastic, below we have included highlights from their award nominations.

Platinum Waterwise Council - City of Subiaco

The City has shown innovation and leadership in embedding waterwise principles into its operations, and a whole of water cycle approach to sustainable water management. The City of Subiaco has been an active supporter of the work to make Perth a more Water Sensitive City through its community engagement and education initiatives, focus on biodiversity, urban environmental management, greening infrastructure and water sensitive urban design.

Gold Waterwise Council

The following councils have achieved gold recognition based on 2016-17 performance:

  • Town of Bassendean
  • City of Bayswater
  • Town of Cambridge
  • City of Canning
  • City of Cockburn
  • City of Joondalup
  • City of Kwinana
  • City of Madurah
  • City of Perth
  • City of Swan
  • City of Subiaco
  • Town of Victoria Park
  • City of Vincent

More information

To get involved in the Waterwise Council Program or for more information please email or call (08) 9420 2572.