• Four kilometres of pipe replaced as part of $32 million improvement program
  • Local businesses awarded contracts for Water Corporation farmlands pipe replacement projects in Wheatbelt

Water Minister Mia Davies today announced the start of work on four pipe replacement projects in the Wheatbelt, with the majority of these to be delivered by local contractors.

Ms Davies said the pipe replacement projects were the first stage of the State Government's three-year $32 million farmlands project, to improve the performance of the farmlands water supply system in the Wheatbelt.

"I am very encouraged this work will maximise the investment in the region by employing mainly local contractors," she said.

The Minister said the Water Corporation worked with the Wheatbelt Business Network, Northam Chamber of Commerce, Directions and Supply Nation to maximise opportunities for local businesses.   

Ms Davies said a pipeline replacement in the Shire of Northam would be carried out by Underground Services Australia in a joint venture with AACT, a 100 per cent Aboriginal-owned and operated company.  Merredin contractor Rob Lazenby was awarded the pipe replacements in the shires of Dalwallinu and Kellerberrin and Northam's Blackwell Plumbing was awarded the fourth project in the Shire of Trayning. 

The Minister said further invitations to tender would be advertised by the Water Corporation in December, with more projects to come in 2016 to complete the first year of the farmlands program.

"This is a great opportunity for Wheatbelt contractors to continue to bid on the upcoming projects to improve the farmlands water supply system," she said. 

Fact File

  • Communities in the agricultural east and west districts of the Wheatbelt are served by more than 7,800 kilometres of farmlands water supply pipelines
  • Water Corporation is investing $32 million over the next three years to significantly improve the performance of the farmlands water network
  • For more information, visit http://www.watercorporation.com.au/farmlands

Media Enquiries:

Contact: Minister's office - 6552 5500