• Platinum and Gold Waterwise Councils announced
  • 10 Councils newly endorsed as Waterwise

Water Minister Dave Kelly has congratulated Western Australia’s top water saving councils for demonstrating leadership and excellence in sustainable water management.


A total of 19 councils were recognised today at Water Corporation’s Waterwise Business Recognition breakfast, with some saving as much as 14 per cent of their regular water use as part of the Waterwise Council Program.


The program is part of a number of Water Corporation non-residential Waterwise initiatives, which saved more than 12 billion litres of water in 2015-16, the equivalent of more than 5,300 Olympic-sized swimming pools.


The Waterwise Council Program is run through a joint partnership between Water Corporation and the Department of Water, and supports councils to improve water efficiency in their operations and liveability in their communities.


The City of Mandurah and City of Vincent received platinum recognition – the highest award in the program - for demonstrating innovation and best practice techniques in sustainable water management, as well as their commitment to community education and behavioural change amongst their ratepayers.


Water Minister Dave Kelly presented the awards at a breakfast held today, which also recognised Western Australia’s top water saving businesses and offices.


Comments attributed to Water Minister Dave Kelly:


“We see the biggest improvements in sustainable water management when Government, industry and communities work together in partnership.


“I congratulate the program participants for their water saving efforts and particularly those recognised today for achieving platinum and gold status. 


“The significant water saving milestones being achieved by Western Australian councils is encouraging and reinforces that everyone in the community has a responsibility to save precious water in our drying climate.


Complete list of councils receiving recognition or endorsement as a Waterwise Council.


Platinum Waterwise Council - Awarded to a council demonstrating innovation and best practice techniques in sustainable water management of its facilities and public open space, as well as community education and behaviour change.


City of Vincent
City of Mandurah


Gold Waterwise Council - awarded to councils for demonstrating significant progress towards best practice sustainable water management, or achievement above and beyond the actions required for endorsement.


City of Bayswater
City of Cockburn
City of Joondalup
City of Kwinana
Shire of Mundaring
City of Perth
City of Subiaco
Town of Victoria Park


Newly Endorsed Waterwise Councils - Councils that have met endorsement requirements:


Town of Bassendean
City of Canning
City of Fremantle
City of Karratha
Shire of Kojonup
Shire of Mt Marshall
City of Rockingham
City of Stirling
Town of Victoria Park
Shire of Wyalkatchem

Media Enquiries:

Contact: Alyesha Anderson

Position: Minister’s office

Phone: 0447 462 589 or 6552 6100