Navigate home logo

City of Joondalup's Macaulay Park

  • City of Joondalup and Bayswater Waves receive platinum waterwise recognition
  • Town of Bassendean wins Community Choice Award
  • Waterwise programs support the McGowan Government's Waterwise Perth Action Plan


Water Minister Dave Kelly has crowned the City of Joondalup as WA's Platinum Waterwise Council of the Year at a special ceremony acknowledging the water-saving success of local governments and aquatic centres. 


The City of Joondalup is one of a record 48 councils State-wide now endorsed through the Waterwise Council Program - an initiative of Water Corporation and the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation to help local governments adopt more water-efficient practices.


Among a long list of waterwise achievements, the City of Joondalup was recognised for implementing its Yellagonga Integrated Catchment Management Plan and upgrading irrigation infrastructure to reduce groundwater consumption.  


The Shires of Exmouth and Harvey also earned special recognition as WA's newest waterwise councils, while the City of South Perth was acknowledged for becoming one of only 26 local governments to achieve gold recognition. 


The Town of Cottesloe and Shire of Mundaring marked 10 years' participation in the program.


Minister Kelly also congratulated the Town of Bassendean for claiming Water Corporation's Community Choice Award for transforming a stormwater basin in Eden Hill into a micro-wetland. Chosen by public vote, the project was one of four shortlisted for demonstrating innovative water-efficient design.


The ceremony also celebrated participants in Water Corporation's Waterwise Aquatic Centre Program, created in partnership with the Leisure Institute of Western Australia Aquatics.


Eight aquatic centres achieved gold recognition for best practice water management, while Bayswater Waves in the City of Bayswater was crowned the inaugural Platinum Waterwise Aquatic Centre.


The Waterwise Council Program was introduced by Water Corporation and the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation more than 13 years ago. It is one of several targeted programs that promote efficiency among high water users and ensure all segments of the community are doing their bit to conserve precious water supplies.


To find out more about the Waterwise Council and Aquatic Centre Programs, visit


Comments attributed to Water Minister Dave Kelly:


"Water efficiency is a shared responsibility across the community - in our homes, workplaces, and across all levels of government. In the face of climate change and declining rainfall, never has this responsibility been more important.


"Through the Waterwise Council and Aquatic Centre programs, we're supporting high water users to be as water-efficient as possible across their operations.


"This is an essential part of meeting our future water needs because reducing the amount of water we collectively use defers the need for expensive new sources.


"It's all part of efforts by the McGowan Government, through Water Corporation and the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation, to ensure a secure, sustainable drinking water supply for all Western Australians well into the future.


"I'd like to congratulate award recipients and indeed all those who participate in a water-efficiency program for their ongoing commitment to being waterwise."


Minister's office - 6552 6100


Waterwise Council Program 2022 recognitions


Platinum Waterwise Council of the Year - Awarded for achievements over and above Gold waterwise status requirements. Those eligible must be a Gold Waterwise Council.


Community Choice Award - Chosen by the community as the council most deserving of recognition for their nominated Gold Waterwise Council project.


New Gold Waterwise Councils - Awarded to councils demonstrating actions across all Water Sensitive City goal areas.


Newly Endorsed Waterwise Council - Councils that have met endorsement requirements:




2022 Platinum Waterwise Council of the Year

City of Joondalup

Community Choice Award


New Gold Waterwise Council

City of South Perth

Newly Endorsed Waterwise Council

Shire of Exmouth

Newly Endorsed Waterwise Council

Shire of Harvey

10 Year Waterwise Council

Town of Cottesloe

10 Year Waterwise Council

Shire of Mundaring


Waterwise Aquatic Centre 2022 Program recognitions


Platinum Waterwise Aquatic Centre of the Year - Awarded for innovation and achievements over and above Gold status requirements.


2022 Platinum Waterwise Aquatic Centre of the Year


Bayswater Waves

City of Bayswater


New Gold Waterwise Aquatic Centre - Awarded for demonstrating best practice water management in aquatic centres.


Aquatic Centre


Cockburn ARC

City of Cockburn

Goldfields Oasis Recreation Centre

City of Kalgoorlie Boulder

Leisure World

City of Gosnells

Leisurepark Balga

City of Stirling

Terry Tyzack Aquatic Centre

City of Stirling

Mount Barker Swimming Pool

Shire of Plantagenet

Manjimup Regional AquaCentre

Shire of Manjimup

Onslow Aquatic Centre

Shire of Ashburton



Bayswater Waves Aquatic Centre in the City of Bayswater