Board of directors

Details about our Board of Directors is found within this section.

Mr Michael Hollett


Mr Michael Hollett has extensive water industry and property development experience, and consults in both business and property development. Mr Hollett is currently Chairman of Ocean Gardens Inc, Director at H&H Development Enterprises Pty Ltd and Director at Kimberley Marine Support Base Pty Ltd. Prior to this, Mr Hollett was the Chief Executive Officer of the National Lifestyle Villages Group and expanded the Group’s delivery of affordable new housing estates, and senior and resource sector accommodation communities across the State and to Victoria. He is a qualified Hydrographer and worked in a variety of roles including regional and metropolitan land development, lead new pathways in water recycling, efficiency and strategic planning for Water Corporation and its predecessors from 1982 to 2004.

Appointed 1 January 2012, appointed Chairman 1 January 2017, term expires 31 December 2019.

Chair: Safety and Wellbeing Committee and Remuneration Committee


 Board member Michael Hollett

Mr Pat Donovan

Chief Executive Officer
Bachelor of Engineering (BA BAI) Mechanical Engineering (Trinity College, Dublin)

Mr Donovan was appointed CEO in January 2019 and comes to the Water Corporation with more than 25 years’ experience in the gas utility sector in Australia and Ireland. He was previously President of ATCO Gas Australia where he led the business in the delivery of safe, reliable and affordable energy to over 750,000 customers across the south west of Western Australia and previously held senior executive roles at ATCO and Alinta.

Mr Donovan has qualifications in engineering and finance, and has also completed an Ivey Business Executive Program at Western University in Canada. He has a proven track record of leading customer focussed business strategies and achieving sustained commercial success and business growth. He is a passionate proponent of delivering service and operational excellence at a sustainable cost to customers and the community and his collaborative and engaging style helps build high performing teams.

Appointed 1 January 2019, term expires December 2024.


 Sue Murphy

Mr David Lock

Deputy Chairman

Mr David Lock is the Chairman of Mareterram Limited, a listed agribusiness company. He is also the Chairman of the Western Australia Meat Industry Authority and is a non-executive director of Odeum Produce Pty Limited and Food Fibre and Land International Pty Limited. He is Consultant to the Board of Australian Pork and is a member of the Advisory Council of the Curtin Business School. Mr Lock held Managing Director roles in public and private Australian food and agribusiness companies since 2004, prior to taking on a portfolio career in December 2017. He also held managerial positions with PriceWaterhouseCoopers in Australia, Canada and the UK. In 2012, he was named NAB Agribusiness Leader of the Year and in 2013 he won the Australian Export Heroes Award. Mr Lock brings significant finance skills to the board, as well as a deep understanding of the Australian agribusiness industry. He was previously Chairman of the Food Industry Association of Western Australia.

Appointed 1 January 2014, appointed Deputy Chairman 1 January 2017, term expires 31 December 2019.

Chair: Audit and Risk Committee.

Member: Remuneration Committee.

 David Lock

Ms Nicole Lockwood 

LLB, BBus Environ, GAICD

Ms Nicole Lockwood is owner and principal of Lockwood Advisory which provides advice to government and industry in the areas of regional development, infrastructure and stakeholder engagement. Prior to the establishment of Lockwood Advisory, she was a Director at KPMG. Ms Lockwood is currently the Independent Chair of the Westport Taskforce, the Commissioner of Tourism WA, Board Member of Infrastructure Australia, Deputy Chairman of Leadership WA, Board Member of Internet of Things Alliance Australia, Chair of the Freights and Logistics Council, Chair of MNG Surveying and the Independent Chair of Sienna Wood JV. Previous board roles include Pilbara Development Commission, WA Planning Commission and Horizon Power.

Appointed 1 March 2016, term expires 31 December 2020.

Member: Audit and Compliance Committee


 Nicole Lockwood

Mr David Rowe


Mr David Rowe has worked in executive leadership positions within the property development, construction, health and transport industries throughout Australia and in the Western Australian, Victorian and Commonwealth Governments. He is Chairman of the Ellenbrook Joint Venture, Board Member of the South Metropolitan Health Service and was previously Deputy Chairman of the Western Australian Land Authority (LandCorp) and a Member of the South Metropolitan Health Service Governing Council.

Appointed 1 March 2016, term expires 31 December 2018.

Member: Safety Committee


 David Rowe

Mr Ross Holt

B. Econs (Hons)

Mr Ross Holt has been an integral part of the WA State Government finance and development landscape for almost 40 years. Previously the Chief Executive Officer of the WA Land Authority (LandCorp), Mr Holt retired in 2014. He is currently the Deputy Chancellor of Murdoch University, Chair of Forest Products Commission, Non-executive Director NS Projects and Chair of Nudge.

Appointed 8 June 2016, term expires 31 December 2018.

Member: Safety & Wellbeing Committee


 Mr Ross Holt

Dr Jemma Green

B Comm, (Finance), Murdoch, Post Cert (Cross Sector Partnership) Post Cert (Sustainability) Masters (Sustainability), Cambridge University, PhD (Disruptive Innovation), Curtin Uni

Dr Jemma Green has extensive experience in risk assessment and advisory, working at the nexus of innovation and finance. She has a particular interest in sustainable finance and economics, and her doctoral research focuses on sustainable cities. Dr Green is a Co-Founder and Chairman of Power Ledger, the Chairman of Climate KIC Australia and an Advisory Board Member of Carbon Tracker.

Appointed 4 July 2017, term expires 31 December 2019.

Member: Audit & Risk Committee

 Dr Jemma Green