• City of Subiaco receives top recognition as a Platinum Waterwise Council
  • 13 Waterwise Councils recognised as Gold
  • Three new councils endorsed as Waterwise - all from regional WA 

Councils from across Western Australia were today celebrated for saving water and demonstrating waterwise leadership in their communities.


Water Minister Dave Kelly recognised 16 Waterwise Councils at the Water Corporation's Waterwise Business Recognition event this morning.


The City of Subiaco took out top honours, receiving Platinum recognition for its efforts as a Waterwise Council. The City showed innovation and leadership to embed waterwise principles into its operations, and an ongoing commitment to create a water sensitive community through its projects and programs.


A total of 13 metropolitan Waterwise Councils received Gold recognition and three regional councils - the shires of Denmark, Northam and Goomalling - were endorsed as Waterwise Councils for the first time.


The Waterwise Council Program is run through a partnership between the Water Corporation and the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation, and supports councils to improve water efficiency in their operations and in their communities.


In 2017, the recognition scheme was aligned to reflect the framework for a Water Sensitive City, which focuses on a whole of water cycle approach to urban water management.


Councils participating in the program have saved as much as 15 per cent of their regular water use, with consistent reductions in per person water use within their local government area.


Comments attributed to Water Minister Dave Kelly:


"As Minister for Water, it is great to see a whole of government focus on creating more waterwise communities.


"The Waterwise Council Program continues to be a key part of this goal, with councils implementing water sensitive practices. Councils also lead by example, demonstrating and promoting water saving behaviours in their communities.


"Climate change continues to impact water supplies in the south-west of WA, and I am proud to see Waterwise Councils leading the way to reinforce that everyone has a role to play in creating resilient and liveable communities."


Minister's office - 6552 6100


Below is the complete list of councils receiving recognition or endorsement as a Waterwise Council.


Platinum Waterwise Council- Awarded to a council demonstrating innovation and achievements over and above Gold requirements, across all Water Sensitive City goal areas. To be eligible, the council must be an endorsed Gold Waterwise Council.


City of Subiaco


Gold Waterwise Councils- Awarded to councils for demonstrating 10 actions across all Water Sensitive City goal areas.


Town of Bassendean; City of Bayswater; Town of Cambridge; City of Canning; City of Cockburn; City of Joondalup; City of Kwinana; City of Mandurah; City of Perth; City of Subiaco; City of Swan; Town of Victoria Park and City of Vincent


Newly endorsed Waterwise Councils- Councils that have met endorsement requirements:


Shire of Denmark; Shire of Goomalling and Shire of Northam